Description provided by Editors
Discover Canmore’s history and natural beauty with this downtown tour. Start at the Northwest Mounted Police Barracks, 609 Main St, a 1893 log cabin, tea room and heritage garden restored to its 1921 state with period furniture and exhibits on the NWMP’s arrival. Head west on Main St to the Ralph Connor Memorial United Church built in 1891 by Presbyterian minister Charles W Gordon, Canada’s first bestselling author under the pen-name Ralph Connor. Turn right at 6 Ave, then left at 9 St to find the Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre, with exhibits on the town’s coal mining history and geology. Next, go south on 7 Ave and turn left on 7 St to find the 1913 Miners Union Hall, now a community hall and cultural centre. Farther up 7 St is St Michael’s Anglican Church, a turn of the 20th century Canadian church with a pitched roof, belfry and spire. Return to Main St, and go west to its end at Riverside Park where you can take a Bow River stroll. At the north end is the 1919 CPR Trestle Bridge that links the town to abandoned mountainside coal mines.